National Cancer Center Announces Recipients of 2021-22 Research Fellowship Awards

The National Cancer Center is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2021-22 research grant awards, which support research fellows pursuing promising and innovative cancer research. 

This year’s class includes a total of sixteen recipients—seven first-time awards and nine renewals, representing total funding of $658,000. This is the largest number of grants, and the largest total dollar amount, the organization has ever made in a single year. First-time fellows receive $40,000 and are eligible for a renewal grant of $42,000 if he or she has demonstrated good progress at the conclusion of the first year. 

Recipients of the new post-doc fellowship awards are: Gretchen M. Alicea, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University; Chiwei Xu, Ph.D., The Rockefeller University; Elena Grossi, Ph.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai; Carmen Adriaens, Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital; Narek Darabedian, Ph.D., Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Robin Armstrong, Ph.D., Memorial Sloan Kettering, and Varadha B. Venkadakrishnan, Ph.D., Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. In addition, the NCC renewed grants to Manqi Zhang, Ph.D., Duke University; William Maguire, M.D., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh; Ibtehaj Naqvi, M.D., Ph.D., Duke University; David Frankhouser, Ph.D., Beckman Institute; Sohini Chakraborty, Ph.D., New York University School of Medicine; James Kaminsky, Ph.D., Boston Children’s Hospital; Mireia Perez Verdaguer, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; David M. Gau, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, and Giulia Cova, Ph.D., New York University Medical Center. 

Further details of their projects can be found on the NCC grants page here.

All award decisions are made by the NCC’s Scientific Advisory Board, which is chaired by Darell D. Bigner, M.D., Ph.D., Duke University Medical Center. In addition to Dr. Bigner, the Scientific Advisory Board includes Jerome Ritz, M.D., Harvard Medical School,  John M. Kirkwood, M.D., University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute; Janet M.D. Plate, Ph.D.; and Victoria L. Seewaldt, M.D., City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center (Duarte, California).